Sponsored By:
Home Features News Archive

Rink Atlas


ECHL Announces On-Ice Officials Preseason Training Camp Print E-mail
PRINCETON, N.J. - The ECHL announced that its annual On-Ice Officials Training Camp will be held at the Ice Forum as well as the Gwinnett Center in Duluth, Ga. on Oct. 3-5.

In addition to returning referees and newly-hired referees, attendees include new full-time linesmen as well as selected referees from USA Hockey, the Western Hockey League, the Ontario Hockey League and the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League.

The ECHL Officiating Department is managed by Senior Vice President of Hockey Operations Rod Pasma and administered by Director of Officiating Bryan Lewis and Assistant Director of Officiating Joe Ernst. In addition to the on-ice officials the staff includes Commissioner Emeritus Patrick J. Kelly, Supervisors Jim Doyle, Mark Faucette, Mike Pearce, Jerry Pateman and Ken Wheler, Manager of Hockey Administration Lisa Hollenbeck and Coordinator of Hockey Operations Mike Murray.

"The ECHL Officiating Department is pleased with the dedication of our Officials whose preseason preparation and training will carry them into the regular season and through the Kelly Cup Finals," said Lewis. "We have NHL prospects who are joining the ECHL Officiating Staff and that allows us to have a good mixture of veteran and young officials, many of whom are preparing for a higher caliber of hockey.

"The officials working in the ECHL receive coaching that is designed to get them to the next level of hockey as evidenced by the number of officials who have moved up including Ghislain Herbert, who was recently hired by the NHL."

The officials at the training camp will participate in skating drills and rules tests as well as receiving a thorough review of the ECHL Rule Book with an emphasis on new rules and Rules Enforcement Standards.

Charlie Banfield, who is a Supervisor of NHL Officials, and Jim Mill, who is the Executive Vice President of Hockey Operations for the American Hockey League will address the officials as will Steve Chapman, who is the Chairman of the ECHL Board of Governors, and Jeff Pyle, who is the head coach and director of hockey operations for the Gwinnett Gladiators.

The officials will attend the St. Louis Blues and Atlanta Thrashers preseason game on Oct. 4 and the NHL officials assigned to the game will also address the camp.

There are 18 former ECHL officials scheduled to work as part of the NHL officiating team in 2008-09 with referees David Banfield, Chris Ciamaga, Ghislain Hebert, Mike Leggo, Wes McCauley, Dean Morton, Dan O'Rourke, Brian Pochmara, Kevin Pollock, Kyle Rehman, Chris Rooney, Justin St. Pierre, Ian Walsh and Dean Warren and linesmen Steve Barton, Brian Mach, Tim Nowak and Jay Sharrers. Barton, Leggo, McCauley, Nowak, Pollock, Rooney and Sharrers all worked the 2008 Stanley Cup Playoffs.


Translate This Page

On The Forums