Sponsored By:

Rink Atlas


Fort Erie linesman working NHL playoffs
Written by Kris Dube - niagara.ca   
FORT ERIE - The Stanley Cup Playoffs are underway and Brad Kovachik will wear his finest stripes for another postseason when the Chicago Blackhawks and St. Louis Blues play the second game of their first round series on Saturday.

The Fort Erie resident officiated his first NHL game in 1996 and has worked the playoffs for 13 consecutive years.

After each round, the NHL decides which officials will advance further into the playoffs and last season, Kovachik made it as far as the Eastern...

NHL Announces First Round Officials

Francis Charron #6
Paul Devorski #10
Gord Dwyer #19
Eric Furlatt #27
Dave Jackson #8
Marc Joannette #25
Steve Kozari #40
Chris Lee #28
Wes McCauley #4
Brad Meier #34
Dean Morton #36
Dan O'Halloran #13
Dan O'Rourke #9
Chris Rooney #5
Tim Peel #20
Kevin Pollock #33
Francois St. Laurent #38
Justin St. Pierre #12
Kelly Sutherland #11
Brad Watson #23


Derek Amell #75
Steve Barton #59
David Brisebois #96
Lonnie Cameron #74
Scott Cherry #50
Michel Cormier #76
Greg Devorski...

Three generations of Denvers part of Springfield hockey history
Written by Garry Brown   
Three generations of Denvers have been part of the Springfield professional hockey scene since the 1950s.

It goes back to Jim Denver, whose work as an official scorer and announcer for high school hockey at the Eastern States Coliseum caught the attention of Eddie Shore, owner of the Springfield Indians.

"Eddie asked my dad if he would like to join the crew of off-ice officials working Indians games, and he wound up doing that for 45 years. He became supervisor of the off-ice officials, and...

NHL linesman offers support - Teen official encouraged to stick it out
Written by Mike McIntyre - Brandon Sun   
Vaughan Rody has made plenty of tough calls over a 14-year career as an NHL linesman.

But the Winnipeg-born Rody says he had no choice but to publicly blow the whistle on some of the unsportsmanlike conduct coming out of recent Manitoba minor hockey league games.

Rody, a veteran of more than 800 NHL games, told the Free Press he and his professional colleagues in stripes are stunned by what they've seen, especially the latest incident involving an 18-year-old linesman who was allegedly...

Legendary NHL referee Don Van Massenhoven set to retire
Written by Morris Dalla Costa - The London Free Press   
It was 23 years and 1,364 games ago but Don Van Massenhoven remembers it like it was this morning.

“It was November 11, 1993, Edmonton Oilers at Boston Bruins. My knees were knocking,” he recalled. “I was sent there on short notice. My first NHL game and the zipper on my referee pants broke. I was so nervous my fingers were shaking so much I couldn’t fix it. Ron Asselstine, one of the linesmen, had to fix it for me.

“I remember being out on the ice during the anthem, looking...


Translate This Page

On The Forums